Press Release

Rep. Cuellar, 213 Democratic Members Urge Senator McConnell to Hold Vote on Bipartisan Gun Violence Prevention Legislation

Washington | Charlotte Laracy, DC Press Secretary (202-226-1583); Leslie Martinez, District Press Secretary (956-286-6007), August 8, 2019

Rep. Cuellar, 213 Democratic Members Urge Senator McConnell to Hold Vote on Bipartisan Gun Violence Prevention Legislation

Washington, D.C. – Today, Congressman Henry Cuellar (TX-28) and 213 Members of the House Democratic Caucus wrote to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell demanding the Senate take action to pass H.R. 8, the Bipartisan Background Checks Act, and H.R. 1112, the Enhanced Background Checks Act.  These bipartisan bills were passed by the House in February of this year and have been blocked for a vote by McConnell for more than 160 days.

“In the last 216 days, there have been 251 mass shootings in the United States. We cannot become numb or accept this as normal, said Congressman Cuellar. “The American people deserve action. My colleagues in the U.S. House of Representatives and I have been on the front lines in crafting legislation to combat the epidemic of gun violence in this country. Now it is time for the Senate to act and work to protect the American people.”

A copy of the letter is below; it was signed by Representatives Mike Thompson (CA-05), Alma S. Adams, Ph.D (NC-12), Pete Aguilar (CA-31), Cynthia Axne (IA-03), Nanette Barragan (CA-44), Joyce Beatty (OH-03), Ami Bera (CA-07), Don Beyer (VA-08), Earl Blumenauer (OR-03), Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL), Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Brendan Boyle (PA-13), Anthony Brown (MD-04), Julia Brownley (CA-26), Cheri Bustos (IL-17), G.K. Butterfield (NC-01), Salud Carbajal (CA-24), Tony Cárdenas (CA-29), Andre Carson (IN-07), Matt Cartwright (PA-17), Ed Case (HI-01), Sean Casten (IL-06), Kathy Castor (FL-14), Judy Chu (CA-27), David Cicilline (RI-01), Gil Cisneros, Jr. (CA-39), Katherine M. Clark (MA-05), Yvette Clarke (NY-09), Lacy Clay (MO-01), Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05), Steve Cohen (TN-09), Jim Cooper (TN-05), Gerald Connolly (VA-11), J. Luis Correa (CA-46), Jim Costa (CA-16), Joe Courtney (CT-02), TJ Cox (CA-21), Angie Craig (MN-02), Charlie Crist (FL-13), Jason Crow (CO-06), Joe Cunningham (SC-01), Sharice L. Davids (KS-03), Danny K Davis (IL-07), Susan Davis (CA-53), Madelaine Dean (PA-04), Peter DeFazio (OR-04), Diana DeGette (CO-01), Rosa DeLauro (CT-03), Suzan DelBene (WA-01), Antonio Delgado (NY-19), Val Demmings (FL-10), Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11), Ted Deutch (FL-22), Debbie Dingell (MI-12), Mike Doyle (PA-14), Eliot Engel (NY-16), Veronica Escobar (TX-16), Anna Eshoo (CA-18), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Dwight Evans (PA-03), Abby Finkenauer (IA-01), Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07), Bill Foster (IL-11), Lois Frankel (FL-22), Marcia Fudge (OH-11), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), John Garamendi (CA-03), Jesus G. “Chuy” García (IL-04), Sylvia Garcia (TX-29), Jimmy Gomez (CA-34), Vicente Gonzalez (TX-15), Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05), Al Green (TX-09), Debra Haaland (NM-01), Josh Harder (CA-10), Alcee Hastings (FL-20), Jahana Hayes (CT-05), Denny Heck (WA-10), Brian Higgins (NY-26), Katie Hill (CA-25), Jim Himes (CT-04), Steven Horsford (NV-04), Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06), Jared Huffman (CA-02), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), Hakeem Jeffries (NY-08), Hank Johnson, (GA-04), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), William R. Keating (MA-09), Robin Kelly (IL-02), Joe Kennedy (MA-04), Ro Khanna (CA-17), Dan Kildee (MI-05), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Andy Kim (NJ-03), Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-02), Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08), Ann McLane Kuster (NH-02), Conor Lamb (PA-17), Jim Langevin (RI-02), Rick Larsen (WA-02), John Larson (CT-01), Brenda Lawrence (MI-14), Al Lawson (FL-05), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Susie Lee (NV-03), Andy Levin (MI-09), Mike Levin (CA-49), John Lewis (GA-05), Ted Lieu (CA-33), Daniel W. Lipinski (IL-03), David Loebsack (IA-02), Zoe Lofgren (CA-19), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Nita Lowey (NY-17), Ben Ray Luján (NM-03), Elaine Luria (VA-02), Stephen Lynch (MA-08), Tom Malinowski (NJ-07), Carolyn B. Maloney NY-12), Sean P. Maloney (NY-18), Doris Matsui (CA-06), Lucy McBath (GA-06), Betty McCollum (MN-04), Donald McEachin (VA-04), James P. McGovern (MA-02), Jerry McNerney (CA-09), Gregory Meeks (NY-05), Grace Meng (NY-06), Gwen Moore (WI-04), Joseph Morelle (NY-25), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26), Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), Jerry Nadler (NY-10), Grace Napolitano (CA-32), Richard Neal (MA-01), Joe Neguse (CO-02), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-AL), Tom O’Halleran (AZ-01), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14), Ilhan Omar (MN-05), Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ-06), Jimmy Panetta (CA-20), Chris Pappas (NH-01), Bill Pascrell (NJ-09), Donald Payne, Jr. (NJ-10), Earl Perlmutter (CO-07), Scott Peters (CA-52), Dean Phillips (MN-03), Chellie Pingree (ME-01), Stacey E. Plaskett (VI-AL), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Katie Porter (CA-45), Ayanna Pressley (MA-07), David Price (NC-04), Mike Quigley (IL-05), Jamie Raskin (MD-08) , Kathleen Rice (NY-04) , Max Rose (NY-11), Harley Rouda (CA-48), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40), Raul Ruiz (CA-36), C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (MD-02), Bobby Rush (IL-01), Tim Ryan (OH-13), Linda Sanchez (CA-38), John p. Sarbanes (MD-03), Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-05), Janice Schakowsky (IL-09), Adam Schiff (CA-28), Bradley S. Schneider (IL-10), Kurt Schrader (OR-05), Kim Schrier, M.D. (WA-08), David Scott (GA-13), Robert C. “Bobby” Scott (VA-03), Jose Serrano (NY-15), Terri Sewell (AL-07), Donna Shalala (FL-27), Mikie Sherill (NJ-11), Brad Sherman, (CA-30), Albio Sires (NY-08), Elissa Slotkin (MI-08), Adam Smith (WA-09), Darren Soto (FL-09), Abigail Davis Spanberger (VA-07), Jackie Speier (CA-14), Greg Stanton (AZ-09), Haley Stevens (MI-11), Thomas Suozzi (NY-03), Eric Swalwell (CA-15), Mark Takano (CA-41), Bennie Thompson (MS-02), Mike Thompson (CA-05), Dina Titus (NV-01), Rashida Tlaib (MI-13), Paul Tonko (NY-20), Norma Torres (CA-35), Lori Trahan (MA-03), David Trone (MD-06), Lauren Underwood (IL-14), Juan Vargas, (CA-51), Marc Veasey (TX-33), Filemon Vela (TX-34), Nydia Velazquez (NY-07), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23), Maxine Waters (CA-43), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Jennifer Wexton (VA-10), Susan Wild (PA-07), Frederica Wilson (FL-24), and John Yarmuth (KY-03).


The Honorable Mitch McConnell

Majority Leader

United States Senate

The Capitol, S-230

Washington, DC 20500


Dear Leader McConnell:

We strongly urge you to take immediate action to call the Senate back into session to pass H.R. 8, the Bipartisan Background Checks Act and H.R 1112, the Enhanced Background Checks Act.

In February, the new Democratic House Majority took swift action to pass these bipartisan bills which not only save lives, but also has the support of more than 90 percent of the American people.  Since that time, you have allowed more than 150 days to pass and countless lives have been lost including those most recently lost in Gilroy, California, El Paso, Texas, Dayton, Ohio, Chicago, Illinois and the many others who will never make the headlines. 

This inaction must stop. We know background checks save lives.  Every day background checks stop more than 170 felons and 50 domestic abusers from getting a gun.  Any delay to pass commonsense gun violence prevention legislation only increases the chances that more innocent people in America may suffer from the tragic and needless loss caused by gun violence.

Again, we urge you to follow the leadership of the House Democratic Majority and immediately come back into session to pass H.R 8, the Bipartisan Background Checks Act and H.R. 1112, the Enhanced Background Checks Act, that could prevent dangerous criminals from obtaining weapons and save lives.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter of great urgency to the American people.