Press Release

Congressman Cuellar Honored for Notable Public Service by American Political Science Association

The Hubert H. Humphrey Award is given annually to political scientists in honor of the former Vice President and U.S. Senator

f t # e
Washington, November 19, 2014 | comments

Congressman Henry Cuellar (D-TX28) today announced that he has been honored with the Hubert H. Humphrey Award for Notable Public Service from the American Political Science Association.  The Humphrey award is given annually for notable accomplishments in public service.  Past recipients include former Secretary of State, Madeleine Albright, former Director of the CIA, General David Petraeus, and United States National Security Advisor, Susan Rice. 

“Growing up as the oldest son of migrant worker parents, I was raised with a strong work ethic and commitment to attaining a higher education,” said Congressman Cuellar. “The years I spent completing my Ph.D. in government at the University of Texas at Austin helped lay the platform for my career in public service, first as a State Representative, then as Texas Secretary of States, and now in the United States Congress.  I thank the American Political Science Association for this honor and look forward to many more years working in the sphere of public service.”  

American Political Science Association Executive Director Steven Smith presents Congressman Cuellar with the Hubert H. Humphrey award for notable public service

“The Humphrey Award is the discipline’s most esteemed award for notable public service by a political scientist,” said Steven Rathgeb Smith, Executive Director of the American Political Science Association. “It is especially appropriate that this award is bestowed on Congressman Cuellar, whose exemplary career serving the people of Texas represents the very best qualities in our contemporary public servants.  Like Senator Humphrey, Congressional Cuellar has served his constituents and the broader public with dedication and an enduring commitment to fairness and equity for all citizens.”

The Humphrey award committee includes Dr. Kathryn Sikkink from Harvard University, Dr. Adolph L. Reed Jr. from the University of Pennsylvania, and Dr. Harie C. Han from Wellesley College.  Founded in 1903, the American Political Science Association is a professional organization for the study of political science and serves more than 13,000 members in over 80 countries.  For more information on the American Political Science Association, visit their website here.  

f t # e