Located in the southern region of Texas, the 28th Congressional District spans nine diverse counties:


The 28th District of Texas includes a southeast section of Bexar County, home to San Antonio, Texas. With a population of 1,714,773 – Bexar County is the 4th largest county in Texas and the 19th largest in the country. The area was once occupied by the Coahuiltecans, Tonkawas and Lipan Apaches and was later explored by Europeans in 1691 on an expedition led by Domingo Teran de los Rios. Native Americans referred to the area as Yanaguana, but in celebration of the memorial day of St. Anthony, it was renamed San Antonio. Bexar county is known for its regional medical center, large number of universities and colleges and tourist attractions (museums, zoo, two large theme parks and The Alamo).


Wilson County is named after James Charles Wilson, an early settler of Texas who later served as a State Legislator. John Connally, a Texas governor, U. S. Secretary of the Navy and U.S. Treasury Secretary, was born in Wilson County. The area was home to Indian tribes such as the Tonkawa, Karankawa, Lipan Apache and Comanche. Wilson County has a population of more than 32,000 residents and the county seat is Floresville, Texas. U.S. Highways 87 and 181 serve as major transportations hubs. Cities in Wilson County include Floresville, La Vernia, Stockdale and Poth among other communities.


Atascosa County, named after the Atascosa River, is home to 44,911 residents and the county seat is Jourdanton, Texas. It is a major infrastructure hub for Interstate 37, U.S. Highway 281, along with State Highways 16, 85 and 97. Cities in Atascosa County include Charlotte, Jourdanton, Lytle, Pleasanton and Poteet.

La Salle

La Salle County is home to 6,000 residents and its county seat is Cotulla, Texas. La Salle County is named after René-Roberto Cavelier, Sieur de La Salle, a 17th Century explorer. La Salle is the present-day site of part of the territory that was disputed by Mexico and the United States during the Texas Revolution and the Mexican-American War, situation that was resolved in the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo. The treaty assigned the Nueces area to Texas in 1848, which set the Rio Grande as the boundary between the State of Texas and Mexico. Major infrastructure hubs include Interstate 35 and State Highway 97. Cities in La Salle County include Cotulla and Encinal, among others smaller communities.


McMullen County has a population of more than 900 residents and the county seat is Tilden, Texas. McMullen County is named after John McMullen, founder of a colony in Texas. Major State Highways include 16 and 72 and communities include Calliham and Tilden.


Webb County, the largest county in South Texas, is home to 250,304 residents. At the heart of the county is the City of Laredo, which served as the capital of the independent Republic of the Rio Grande in 1840. After the Mexican-American War, the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo ceded the land to the United States in 1848. Laredo is one of the oldest border crossing points along the U.S.-Mexico border, and the nation’s largest inland port of entry.


Zapata County hails its name from Colonel Jose Antonio de Zapata, a rancher who rebelled against Mexico in the mid-1800’s dispute between the United States and Mexico for territory in present-day Zapata. The county seat is Zapata, Texas, and about 14,000 people live there as of the 2010 U.S. Census. Infrastructure hubs include U.S. Highway 83 and State Highway 16. Communities in Zapata County include San Ygnacio, New Falcon, Lopeño and Zapata.


Starr County has a population of 60,698 residents and the county seat is Rio Grande City, Texas. Starr County is named after James Harper Starr, who served as Secretary of Treasury of the Republic of Texas. The major corridor in the area is U.S. Highway 83. Cities in Starr County include Escobares, La Grulla, Rio Grande City, and Roma among other smaller communities.


Home to 774,769 residents (U.S. 2010 Census), the 28th District of Texas includes the west southern area of Hidalgo County. Native Americans were first said to have made a home in Hidalgo 11,000 years ago, but it was not until 1749 when the area was colonized by Jose de Escandon and four towns were established on the southern banks of the Rio Grande. The county is now home to 22 cities and is one of the fastest growing in Texas – the population increased by 36% since the 2000 Census data. A retail hub and a major city in the county, McAllen is represented by 40 of American top 100 retailers and the McAllen MSA is ranked 1st in total retail sales per household.